Subscribe

Forum

Good enough for a postdoc

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Good enough for a postdoc

Postby C. Hino » Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:12 pm

Dear forum,

I would kindly appreciate your view on this. I am currently a male grad student in neuroscience (not at a top 10 school). On my resume I have 13 papers (11 first author) but no first author papers in journals with Impact Factor > 5. I primarily do fMRI and EEG work (mostly data analysis) so it is a bit easier to publish than it would be if I was a bench researcher. I also have won an NRSA award. I will be 34 years old by the time I graduate.

Based on this information what are my chances of obtaining a good postdoc in a a reputable lab in neuroscience (preferably neuroimaging)? Thank you.
C. Hino

Re: Good enough for a postdoc

Postby Dave Walker » Thu Feb 26, 2015 12:04 pm

Hi C. Hino,

If you network enough you can land a postdoc anywhere. (As a data point, I had zero publications at the end of my PhD and was able to get 4 respectable postdoc opportunities.)