Subscribe

Forum

Question on J1 visa for postdoc

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Question on J1 visa for postdoc

Postby DLB » Sun Mar 01, 2015 5:46 pm

Hello,

I am an international graduate student working in the field of biophysics. I am finishing my PhD and will be defending soon. A couple of months ago, I applied for a few postdoctoral positions and got some interviews.

One of the interviews was at a very good HHMI lab and it went out very smoothly. I was offered a position at the end of the interview. During some small talks, the PI told me that her postdocs were often sponsored H1B visa. She told me that the formal letter from HHMI will come after I defend successfully and obtain an OPT status. The lab is very good and everyone seems to be nice. So, I accepted the offer and rejected the others.