Old Postdoctoral PI Taking My Project

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Old Postdoctoral PI Taking My Project

Postby Sekacoby » Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:09 am

When I was a postdoc, I started a completely new research program in the lab (breast cancer in a lab that studies development). I got external funding to support me and one technician. When the funding ended, I had another grant lined up but there was a 4 month gap in funding. My PI decided to let me go rather than pay for the bridge much to my (and everyone else's) surprise. There was no money to pay me and and I was told my project was too divergent from her "bread and butter research" and she had tried this direction and failed, so she didn't want to take any more risks. I had been a productive member of the lab and got along personally with everyone. I have no reason to believe that I was displaced for any reason other than funding. She gave me a top recommendation.