Subscribe

Forum

Career Advice

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Career Advice

Postby AKG » Mon Aug 17, 2015 11:05 am

Hello Forum members,

I am a 4th year postdoc. I have one publication from my postdoctoral work submitted (as co-first author). I am trying to finish another project and also applying for positions in the industry. I am an international postdoc on J-1 visa and I am encountering lot of problems due to my visa status. Many employers ask if I have GC or US citizenship. While the responses have been positive, I haven't had any on-site interviews yet. I have five publications till now but the citations are very few. For GC application, I was advised to do peer review for journals to improve my chances of getting green card. While I am doing all this, my postdoc supervisor is moving to another university and asked if I would like to move with him. Since, I don't have any position at this moment. What options should I consider?

I would appreciate your suggestions.

Best,
AKG
AKG

Re: Career Advice

Postby PG » Mon Aug 17, 2015 11:24 am