Subscribe

Forum

I have a biology major and do not know what to do next

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

I have a biology major and do not know what to do next

Postby RFZ » Mon Jan 25, 2016 11:58 pm

Hi, I graduated last year from a bachelors degree in interdisciplinary sciences with some focus on biology (mainly getting all the req for pharma) but I did not continue to pharma since I realized (albeit a bit late) the job market is over saturated. The counseling at my college is almost nonexistent so I basically graduated with a degree with almost no focus and little research/ extracurricular. I started to look for jobs while I decided what to do next but I have had no luck at all. Right now I am really frustrated and I would practically take anything. I wanted to get into a masters program in BioE, as it seems to be the only viable option (job outlook wise). Thing is, I dont meet the req (calculus 2 and 3) for this program, and I dont have the money to get these classes. One option that came up is going to grad school into biotech masters and then transitioning into BioE, but im unsure as to the viability, and I do not want to finish a degree to stay at the same spot I am now. So please, any advice? Are any of these fields worth g