Subscribe

Forum

Using my degree and sales background

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Using my degree and sales background

Postby Novitsky » Thu Jul 07, 2016 9:30 am

I graduated in 2013 with a BS in biomedical science with a chemistry minor. I did research in molecular biology which I loved. I excelled in my microbiology and biochemistry labs as well. After graduating, the few lab jobs that I found in my area all paid under $16.00/hour. I ended up taking a job doing QA testing on automotive and aerospace parts, only requiring basic chemistry knowledge. After a year my company slowed down and I was laid off. I took a temporary job doing water chemistry at a treatment plant which was wasn't challenging and I didn't care for as well.

I have always been an outgoing person and I grew tired of spending my day with minimal human interaction in a windowless lab while making far less than I hoped. I decided on a drastic change so I took a position doing software sales for a very large corporation in Chicago. I have been doing software sales for about 1.5 years here and I feel like I wasted my degree. I have made a lot more money, but I want to get back into a scientific field.