Subscribe

Forum

Career advice

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Career advice

Postby Brad S. » Fri Jul 08, 2016 2:09 pm

I'm almost 30, and I have about 54 credits at my Community College. I was an Audi Tech for most of my twenties before i decided to go back to college.
I'm getting ready to transfer and trying to figure out what college to go to. But that really depends on what field of study I want to go into.

I'm currently debating between Physics, Chemistry and Biology, but am very open. All science interests me and i would do it all if i had the time. So the whole "do what you like" thing, is not applicable. I do not want to do anything related mechanical "things", machines, cars, planes, etc. I've done it enough.

What field of study I go into depends on a couple of things.

(In no particular order)
1. My end goal in life is to discover something previously unknown about the universe. How important that discovery is, is a bit secondary. i just want to discover something. I want to be able to go through the scientific method and experiment.
2. length of time at college.