Subscribe

Forum

SAS programming for biology PhDs

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

SAS programming for biology PhDs

Postby D.I.P. » Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:11 am

Hi, I am in 3rd year of my PhD in molecular biology/cell biology where I don't have any programming skill and have no experience in handling big data. I may pursue a career in clinical research in future. Should I take a SAS certification?
D.I.P.

Re: SAS programming for biology PhDs

Postby D.X. » Tue Aug 30, 2016 7:07 am

Hi DIP,

First a comment, you say you "may" pursue a career in clinical Research in the future, what does that mean? It may be beneficial to share what exactly you'd like to be doing.

Second, the SAS certification in the absense of knowing what you want may not be the best course of Action. Not all or not many Jobs in clinical Research do not Need someone who knows SAS.