Subscribe

Forum

Career options for an epidemiology PhD?

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Career options for an epidemiology PhD?

Postby Kaylee » Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:27 pm

My background:
I am a 3rd-year PhD student in epidemiology, with a strong interest in genetic epidemiology. I am also a lifelong computer tinkerer, but have never worked as a professional software developer. I've taken a few masters-level bioinformatics courses during my PhD just out of interest/to scratch the coding/tinkering itch, but it is not my PhD area.

Going into graduate school, I thought my career path was obvious: tenure-track professor. But now that I've seen what life is like for them -- chronically busy and overworked, and most of their time on teaching/service/administration not leaving much time for research work -- I am seriously rethinking my desire to pursue that career path. But at this point I have only a vague idea what the alternatives are...

I like:
1) Research to find out what causes diseases, especially from a genetic epidemiology perspective
2) Writing code
3) Analyzing data

I don't like: