Subscribe

Forum

PhD or job after the masters?

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

PhD or job after the masters?

Postby Jenny K. » Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:24 am

Hello friend! I am a recent post graduate on civil engineering. I am thinking about whether I should do a Ph.D or try to find a job. To be honest I am a little confused about it. I may find a job now and after a couple of years will try to do the doctorate. I am not sure if it is a good idea. When I contacted a professional recruiter in Toronto, recently, they advised me to do phD and then try for job, rather than waiting for another couple of years. It actually confused me more. What advise can you give me in this scenario?
Jenny K.

Re: PhD or job after the masters?

Postby PG » Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:17 am

Hi Jenny,

I edited your post slightly to remove the link to the recruiting Company that you had been in contact with since I could not see that the link provided any value to your question. If this was incorrect please repost that link again.