Subscribe

Forum

Careers on the business side

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Careers on the business side

Postby ESC » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:43 am

I am an equity/junk bond analyst following the healthcare/pharmaceutical/biotech industry seeking advice on making a career transition to the business side of the industry. I have an BS in Business, MBA in Finance and have completed the CFA designation (Chartered Financial Analyst). I have completed enough undergraduate credits in science to gain admission to three MS program (biochemistry, cell biology, microbiology) but have been told that I would need to take some additional general education credits to obtain a BS (oddly, most schools seem to be pushing me toward a MS and away from a BS). Questions:

* Would a formal degree in science improve my candidacy on the business side? If so, does it matter if it's a BS or an MS? I am interested in positions in business development or marketing, but, realistically, my best shot is probably in investor relations, strategy or corporate finance.