Subscribe

Forum

How to become a Principal Scientist in biopharma/biotech

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

How to become a Principal Scientist in biopharma/biotech

Postby SUA » Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:43 pm

I have 6 years of postdoctoral experience with expertise in lung and kidney diseases at two different Ivy league universities in United States. I did my PhD studying signal transduction of a protein that has functional role in breast cancer and lung fibrosis from a well renowned university in United Kingdom. Although in a small lab, during my first postdoctoral tenure, I gained expertise in lung diseases including acute lung injury and lung fibrosis. Being exposed to Ivy league university, I gained expertise in all molecular biology techniques including global proteomic profiling using mass spectrometry. After completion of 3 years I moved to a metro area in a big lab where my current PI is dean of an Ivy league university. Although the reason for the move is due to a family reason, this step made me to remain as a postdoctoral associate for 6 long years. However, during my second postdoctoral tenure, I gained expertise in kidney diseases including acute kidney injury and kidney fibrosis. In current university, I gained expertise