Subscribe

Forum

Organic to analytical chemistry

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Organic to analytical chemistry

Postby JKL » Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:04 pm

Hello. I got a Master’s degree in organic chemistry, however after I graduated I realised that I want to move towards an analytical chemistry career working with chromatography and mass spectrometry. More specifically I think that LC-MS-MS and biomedical research is an area I would like to move into. I have been told that the change from organic to analytical chemistry shouldn’t be that hard – but I’m really struggling. After I graduated I got a maternity cover (9 months) in analytical laboratory analysing oil samples. For the last year I have been working in the pharmaceutical industry, developing HPLC methods for identification and quantification of API’s in pharmaceutical dosage forms. But how do I move from my current job to a job doing LC-MS-MS?

I have done the following:
1) Applied for analytical chemistry jobs at hospitals, forensic departments etc. However each time I am called in for an interview someone else gets the job due to “more experience with biological samples”