Subscribe

Forum

My advisor wants to put me as PI for R01

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

My advisor wants to put me as PI for R01

Postby Bryant » Wed May 03, 2017 5:47 pm

Hi forum,

I am a 2nd-year postdoc (official title is research associate). I have been preparing for K99 application in October. My advisor asked me to draft 2 R01 proposals based on my K99 idea. Then he wanted to put me as a PI in one of the two R01 proposals, and submit them in June. I understand that he wants to boost my career and give enough credit to the one who does the work. However, I think my postdoc status is a huge disadvantage in the R01 application. Alternatively, he offers to transfer the R01 to me if it gets funded.

In summary, there are 3 options for me:
1) submit the R01 as a PI
2) submit the R01 under his name, and wait for the potential transfer
3) persuade him into giving up the R01 and let me submit a K99 in the next round

Any comments will be deeply appreciated.
Thanks
Bryant
Bryant

Re: My advisor wants to put me as PI for R01

Postby MCJ » Wed May 03, 2017 8:55 pm

Bryant,