Subscribe

Forum

Research assistant or postdoc position

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Research assistant or postdoc position

Postby Selimonushka » Tue May 09, 2017 4:08 pm

HI everyone,

I am a medical doctor (IMG) from Turkmenistan. I will be graduating this year from my medical school and I would like to get a research assistant or postdoctoral position in basic departments in USA. I am not a permanent resident of the US. I have a little scientific experience (skills: gel electrophoresis, PCR, real-time PCR) and much clinical experience.
Questions:
1) Would it be difficult to me to get a paid position with my experiences/skills in the US?
2) Could you please give me advice how to get the position? I have already sent about 100 emails with my resume to professors of US universities, but unfortunately, there are many negative replies.
3) Maybe I need some more laboratory techniques skills like ELISE, flow cytometry, e.t.c ?
Selimonushka

Re: Research assistant or postdoc position

Postby Dave Jensen » Tue May 09, 2017 7:00 pm

Hello,