Subscribe

Forum

Confused about (realistic) career options

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Confused about (realistic) career options

Postby Susan H. » Thu May 25, 2017 8:22 am

Dear forum, I am a 42 yo PhD chemist who works in Big Pharma - development/production interface of chemical drug synthesis. Unfortunately, I am not really happy, but seem not to be able to move on or change. I am trying to explore other career options by applying at other companies, but seem not to be successful. Is my cv just not good enough, or is it a perceived lack of personality? I see colleagues around me that do less in their job, care less, make silly mistakes, and they seem to be happier. A recent 360° feedback with >40 of all kinds of colleagues of mine showed that I am perceived as a strong contributor, and that I am too critical of others and myself. I would like to think that I am able (intellectually and character wise) to get a group leader position, and got some strong appraisals in that direction, but also negative feedback, especially from people who don't know me well, so my first impression seems not to be favourable. Any advice what I can do to move up? Any input much appreciated. Thank you.