Subscribe

Forum

Career advice

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Career advice

Postby Aditi C. » Wed May 31, 2017 1:56 am

Hi,

I am a first year doctoral student pursuing stem cell research. Let me get into the matter without beating around the bush. I have lost the enthusiasm to pursue my project. I still love research have no problems with my current project yet I do not seem to enjoy being in research.
I had a productive Master's with a first author publication in a 3.9 impact factor journal (21 citations in two years). Worked for two years as Research assistant before deciding onto pursuing PhD. I did have my apprehensions yet when I got into the lab that I wanted to further work on and an exciting PhD project, I made up my mind to pursue it. And so far have done well. Currently authoring a paper on a project that I was working past a year, did well in all my courses, was placed for my poster presentation. Attended couple of conferences, workshops. Overall a very hard-working​ yet fulfilling year. Yet now am very unsure and as I mentioned earlier not happy at all.