Subscribe

Forum

MSL Required Experience

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

MSL Required Experience

Postby LYAO » Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:43 pm

I am a recent PharmD graduate (also have a BS in biology) and interested in becoming an MSL. I’m planning on applying for some positions immediately, but afraid that my lack of experience will hinder me. In the meantime, I’m looking for positions that will facilitate a future position as an MSL and would like advice from current MSLs.

Some positions I have been looking at:

Clinical Research Coordinator – recruiting for and managing clinical trials on a participant level

Pharmacy Field Representative – Somewhat like a company PR role for providers, with education of providers and patients about services. Troubleshooting patient and provider problems, reporting customer trends

Cares Associate – First contact for providers and patients, troubleshoot problems, respond to medical queries, interact with clinical trial sites

Would these positions be good experience? My only concern is that many of these positions are beneath a PharmD level, and only require a BS. Will this make me look bad to employers? I do not want to go into clinical pharmacy. What other positions would be good experience?