Subscribe

Forum

From Broadcast to Sciences, help!!!

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Postby Yezika » Sat Nov 20, 2004 1:07 pm

I'm at a crossroads. I am 25 and contemplating a career in science and public policy, hopefully. But my background is in Broadcast Journalism and film, I am already applying to undergrad programs in science but I have no idea how to make this transition. Most importantly, the world of science is so extensive and interesting, that I don't know what I would like to major in, and what majjor would aid me in my goal of working in public policy in the future. I have doing massive research with very little luck. Is there a website that explores the different science career paths and where they could lead???

Dazzed and confused,
Yezika
Yezika

Postby John Fetzer » Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:32 am

That is an interesting career transition. I know of some who took the opposite route and ended up in science communications.

As far as path, I'd say the first rule is to follow your heart. What areas are you passionate about? You need to be driven to go through the years of education and research.