Subscribe

Forum

scared about PhD and the future

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Postby Peter » Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:27 pm

I graduated with my BS in engineering in 2003 from a large land-grant university. Upon graduation, my job prospects was bleak and although I went through numerous interviews no job offer was made. Fortunatley I was able to land a research assistant position at a national research lab. Currently I am still working at the lab and at the same time I have applied for PhD programs in engineering around the country. The outcome has been positive and I have been accepted to several schools already. Somewhere in the year and a half that I've spent in the lab, I started to dream about becoming a great scientist. I envisioned myself graduating with a Ph.D and with a bright idea I would start a company of my own and have control of my own destiny. I also envision that I would apply for an industry job and eventually move into the business side of the industry. Since I am bilingual, I would have an advantage over my peers to do international work. On top of everything, PhDs' are more respected overseas.