Dealing with Headhunters

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Dealing with Headhunters

Postby J.J. » Wed Dec 08, 2004 4:01 pm

Now that I've racked up a few years of experience, I'm starting to get headhunter phone calls. What is the etiquette of dealing with headhunters when you're not ready to leave, but don't want to burn any bridges?
I'm generally happy in my position, but some days I'm curious about my marketability.
There's one headhunter I've heard good things about, and I'm thinking of approaching her with a general description of jobs that might interest me in the future. Should I bother with it if I'm not sure if I'm ready to leave my position? I'd hate to "use" a headhunter just to get a career assessment, or to see what jobs are out there if I ultimately want to stay put. Especially if it's someone that I might want to use in the future.

Dealing with Headhunters

Postby Dave Jensen » Wed Dec 08, 2004 4:57 pm

Hi Jill - always nice to respond to one of your professional inquiries.