Subscribe

Forum

Having my own research without teaching?

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Having my own research without teaching?

Postby Ian W » Sun Oct 15, 2017 9:07 pm

I am a PhD student in genetic epidemiology. I greatly enjoy working on research (both my own projects and those of other people), but I do not like teaching.

I am wondering what my career options might be after graduation if I want to keep doing research but I do not want to teach. I want to be able to continue to pursue my own research interests/ideas/projects at least 25-50% of the time. I would like to work in an environment that is collaborative where I spend some time working on or consulting on other peoples' projects too.

Does this sort of position exist? If so, what is it called? Where can I find postings for jobs like this, and how can I find people with jobs like this that I could contact for informational interviews?
Ian W

Re: Having my own research without teaching?

Postby Dave Jensen » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:12 pm

Bumping this one up -- Sorry, I can not help you with this question, but others can. I want to make sure you get a response so my reply will position this at the top of the forum,

Dave Jensen, moderator