Subscribe

Forum

about faculty recruiting

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

about faculty recruiting

Postby Dylan » Sun Jan 09, 2005 11:38 pm

I am a graduate student in a basic science department in a midwest public medical school. My department has recruited several new assistant professors. I happen to notice that none of the new faculty brings in grant money. Although several other candicates have very strong publication record, they were not even interviewed. The people hired on average did their post-doc for 3-4 yrs. Do you think what happened here is typical?

Dylan
Dylan

about faculty recruiting

Postby John_Mastro » Mon Jan 10, 2005 10:37 am

something is amiss in your story. If they get no grant money they will lose their jobs. End of story.
John_Mastro

about faculty recruiting

Postby dylan » Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:55 am

I am talking about people who just got hire. Before they did not have grant money when they started.

Dylan
dylan

about faculty recruiting

Postby Andy » Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:02 pm