Subscribe

Forum

Is there any vacational work or summer placement offer?

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Postby Helen » Tue Feb 15, 2005 4:35 pm

I am an undergraduate 2nd year.Is there any vacational work or summer placement offer to undergraduates in UK and USA?
Helen

Postby Jim » Tue Feb 15, 2005 5:10 pm

Check with Big Pharma and do it soon! Their summer intern positions get filled now.
Jim

Postby Kim » Tue Feb 15, 2005 6:16 pm

Yes, there are. Amgen and Genentech and ALZA in the Bay area have summer internship programs for undergraduates. They are very competitive to get. And they usually go to local students.

However, I am assuming that you are a UK citizen and currently studying in Liverpool University. It would probabaly be impossible for you to get the internship in the US. You need to be a US citizen or has a valid US student visa to be in the internship program. If you are not officially enrolled in a US school, you will not get a US student visa.
Kim

Postby Kim » Tue Feb 15, 2005 8:36 pm