Subscribe

Forum

science writing/editing

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

science writing/editing

Postby Rachel » Mon May 16, 2005 6:36 pm

I am currently a postdoc in chemistry. I have been thinking of leaving the lab to get a job as an editor for academic journals or textbooks. Does anyone have advice for me during this attempted career move (ie, how should I begin networking, what professional organizations should I join, is there any specific training I should obtain, etc.)? Also, what is a normal workday like for an editor? What are some typical responsibilities for newcomers to science editing?
Thanks,
Rachel
Rachel

science writing/editing

Postby Doug » Mon May 16, 2005 10:52 pm