Subscribe

Forum

Decision Time for an Undergraduate (Help!)

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Decision Time for an Undergraduate (Help!)

Postby Will » Sun Jan 01, 2006 2:04 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm a senior chemistry student at a large public research institution. I have an almost perfect GPA (3.95/4.0) and for the last two years I have worked in a chemical biology lab. My primary experience has been with development of a NMR assay for kinetic chracterization of an enzyme. I have also done a lot of kinetics work, including inhibitor characterization. I have experience with expressing and purifying proteins in both eukaryotic and prokaryotic expression systems and basic site-directed mutagenesis. I love science, and want more than anything to have a successful career in a scientific discipline.