Subscribe

Forum

switching careers

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

switching careers

Postby G.T. » Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:30 pm

Hi, I am a researcher and lab manager at Columbia University. I have worked for 5 years (in academia and industry) and have lots of experience in the scientific basic research realm (I've done cell and molecular biology, quality control, and clinical pharmacology). However, I am now interested in switching careers to do the business behind the science and I am not sure how to go about it. I've decided that I don't want to do benchwork anymore. I will be looking into business school as well, but for now, I'd like to find a job in business development or market research (or anything to get my foot in the door) within the same industry. Does anyone have advice (websites, companies, etc.) for my job search? (I plan on staying here in New York City.) I feel that although I have all this experience, I'll be starting from scratch by switching to business.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
G.T.

switching careers

Postby Dave Jensen » Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:03 pm

Hi Glor,