Subscribe

Forum

Not suited to research??

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Not suited to research??

Postby E.M.T. » Mon Jul 10, 2006 4:23 pm

Hi,
I have been a postdoc for about 9 months. I have a good boss but I don't like the environment in the lab in that the people don't really talk to each other. I have been moderately successful with a few setbacks (cells not growing, getting contaminated) which have set me back for a few weeks at a time where I don't have much to do. doesn't sound too bad, does it?
Problem is I just can't get motivated about any of my research. It is interesting but I don't have the enthusiasm that my colleagues do. I just go through the motions of doing the techniques but really don't care. I try to read but lose concentration after a few paragraphs of a paper. If I read a paper I can't remember what a paper was about a few days later eventhough I know I read it (maybe multiple times!!!) and I definitely can't say "in X's paper they discovered.....".