Subscribe

Forum

J1 waiver, US funding source

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward, Dave Walker
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Postby S.B.9278 » Tue Sep 08, 2009 4:06 pm

Hello,
I am a postdoc deciding between J1 and H1 visas. There is a lot of admin hassles about H1B, so my PI prefers J1. But I am petrified by the 2yr home residency, I will need eventually to go for H1B or Green Card.
Question about J1 visa - waiver for 2 yr HRR: I understand that if you are funded as a J-1 Scholar through a US source funding it makes you ineligible for the waiver (so you have to go back to home country for 2yr). Currently, I get paid through institute payroll, but money comes from NIH RO1 to my PI. Does this mean I get funding from US government? and Will this mean I cannot get waiver eventually? Anybody been in a similar situation, please share your experience ?

Thanks in advance.
S.B.9278

Postby TCC » Tue Sep 08, 2009 4:44 pm