Page 1 of 1

Upcoming webinars: (1) Job Searching and (2) Policy Fellowships

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:03 pm
by Brianna Blaser
There are two upcoming webinars that I think would be of interest to several of you.

(1) Job Searching for Scientists: Tools, Tips, and Essentials

September 30, 2009, 12 noon Eastern Time (9 a.m. Pacific, 4 p.m. GMT)

Looking for some advice about how to conduct your job search? Join us for a roundtable discussion that will look at academic and industry job searches for research scientists. We'll talk about using networking in the job search process, locating job openings, getting together your application materials, putting your best foot forward in an interview, and negotiating the best compensation package.

This webinar will look at the various parts of the job application process and focus on giving you nuts and bolts advice that you can apply to your own job search. After the event, you'll be better prepared to tackle today's challenging job market.

Speakers include:
Dave Jensen
Columnist and Forum Moderator, Science Careers
Founder and Managing Director, CareerTrax, Inc.

Sharon Milgram, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Intramural Training and Education
National Institutes of Health

Orlando Taylor, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Research, Dean of the Graduate School, and Professor of Communications
Howard University

Matthew Sammons
Recruiter, Qiagen, Inc.

(2) AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowships
Friday, 2 October, 2009 at 12:00 pm EDT
You can learn more about the fellowships application, selection and placement processes and ask questions of former Fellows about how the experience affected their careers.