Subscribe

Forum

Authorship...

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Authorship...

Postby O.S. » Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:30 am

4 years back when I started as a postdoc my PI asked me to create a cKO mouse. It was a pretty cool cKO mouse, so I said yes thinking that every single group that will KO protein X will cite my paper. I created the mouse and at my PI's request I shared it with somebody in my lab. That person has a paper ready to be published. I am third author (out of 4...)on this paper. All experiments in this paper use the cKO I created. Now, everybody who will cite the use of my cKO mouse will cite my labmate's work, so she gets the credit for my 2 years of work.
Is it possible to publish data using a cKO mouse but not describe the cKO mouse? My paper will take maybe half a year more, and I will also have to cite the other paper for the mouse that I created. But if this new paper doesn't have the description, I could still get credit for making it in my paper. Does this make any sense?

Do I deserve more than 3rd author? (I know 2nd author did not contribute with anything, but he/she's good friends with 1st author so it's 1st author's word against mine)
O.S.

Re: Authorship...

Postby David Taylor » Wed Sep 26, 2012 9:38 am