Subscribe

Forum

Resume job title dilemma

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Resume job title dilemma

Postby James Tyler » Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:46 pm

I have a BS in microbiology. As an undergraduate, I was a research assistant in an academic lab for 6 months. After I finished undergrad, I attended a Ph.D. program for about 1.5 years and then dropped out without getting any degree. In grad school, I rotated in a bunch of labs and joined a lab very briefly. After I dropped out of grad school, about half a year later (in May 2012), I started working at a company as a research assistant, which is where I am now.

My titles (from past to present) are: “undergraduate research assistant”, “graduate research assistant/rotation student” and “research assistant”. I am worried that for future positions, the fact that I attended grad school will be a red flag for employers or some of them will see me as over-qualified or over-ambitious or they’ll think I leave the position early to go back to grad school.