Subscribe

Forum

Do my aspirations fit a science career?

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Do my aspirations fit a science career?

Postby Nate J » Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:36 pm

Quick background: I'm an accounting student with a few semesters left to graduate but I've recently found my passion is in science and medicine. I considered med school and physician assistant school but found it wouldn't be worth it if I can't be directly involved in the latest science.

My vision of what I want to do (and will do regardless of job title) is make sense of existing science and "connect dots" so to speak, rather than focus on something very specific for the rest of my life without seeing the bigger picture. There are several disorders for instance that I and others think share a common link, such as fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue, PTSD, IBS, etc. If I were to pursue a career in science could I devote my time to looking at the bigger picture as I'd wish to or would I be restricted to specifics for long periods of time?