Subscribe

Forum

Advice if possible!

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Advice if possible!

Postby C.A. » Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:33 am

Hey All,

I would really like some advice if anyone is kind enough to provide it. I graduated last year with a BS in biochemistry (graduated in 3 years) but my GPA is only a 2.944… I don't really have any research experience or anything except a bunch of volunteer hours at a local hospital. I actually just came back from studying abroad at a medical university for a year and I was hoping to complete my studies overseas to become a physician. However, due to some personal issues i've returned home only to be unemployed and sitting at home looking for something to put meaning back into my life. The reason I graduated early was because I wanted to go into that medical program overseas, but I ended up leaving and returning with nothing to start off with (a big mistake on my part, I guess).