Subscribe

Forum

Can I negotiate job title?

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

Can I negotiate job title?

Postby P. Lues » Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:58 am

Hi everyone,

I am a recent PhD graduate trying to making a transition into the business side of biotech. I have an interview on Monday which I have a fairly good shot at getting (it's between me and one other person and I have inside information that they prefer me). The trouble is that the title is Business Administration (the salary is low but it's decent enough). I knew the title is not well suited for a PhD but when I spoke to them, they basically that they want me because I have experience in technology transfer and they want me to also do licensing and IP stuff for them about 40% of the time and HR/admin stuff about 60% of the time. All of this is fine (actually sounds pretty good) but I'm worried about the title still. I feel like it would be a very bad choice to accept any sort of admin title after a PhD. It could raise eyebrows when people see that on my resume. Are my fears legitimate? If I get the job, can I negotiate the title? How should I go about bringing it up? I have no experience with this sort of thing so some solid advice is needed.

Best,
P.
P. Lues