Subscribe

Forum

First author publication

Welcome to the newly redesigned Science Careers Forum. Please bookmark this site now for future reference. If you've previously posted to the forum, your current username and password will remain the same in the new system. If you've never posted or are new to the forum, you will need to create a new account.

The new forum is designed with some features to improve the user experience. Upgrades include:
- easy-to-read, threaded discussions
- ability to follow discussions and receive notifications of updates
- private messaging to other SC Forum members
- fully searchable database of posts
- ability to quote in your response
- basic HTML formatting available

Moderator: Dave Jensen
Advisors:   Ana, PG, Rich Lemert, Dick Woodward
Meet the Moderator/Advisors

First author publication

Postby Lisa D » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:57 am

I am a recent MPH graduate, working voluntarily in a medium-tier US University for more than 6 months (without pay- not a US citizen). My boss is old (>65 yrs), with lots of publications. I really enjoyed working with him, but one thing that I am getting annoyed is that he wants to be the first author in all the publications. I wrote one article recently, but he put my name as third author, as there was another girl who worked before me on the same project. She got the second authorship though I had to redo everything from scratch. Collaborators of the project are fourth and fifth authors. During the authorship discussion, I told him that she should be considered before me. He replied "you could be 3rd author, while she gets 2nd author". I really don't know why he still wants to be the first author. He don't need a first author publication to gain anything. On the other hand, it may help me in securing a job.

My question to the forum is: Is it normal in the academic field to have PIs take up first authorship even when it is published in a low impact journal?
Lisa D

Re: First author publication